PLAB 1

So the next step after getting the required score in IELTS is to make an account with GMC and apply for PLAB 1.

http://www.gmc-uk.org/doctors/registration_applications/30305.asp

PLAB 1 is held multiple times in a year. It is held almost every month in UK and twice in overseas mostly in March and November.

http://www.gmc-uk.org/doctors/plab/test_dates.asp

http://www.gmc-uk.org/doctors/plab/23446.asp#Part1

My PLAB 1 journey: 

I gave PLAB 1 during my internship, March 2016, while I was doing my internship. Because of which I didn’t have much time to prepare for it. But the good part about this test is that it examines our basic clinical knowledge and ethics followed in UK.

Materials I used to prepare for this was the 1700 questions and Samson mocks that are available on various facebook PLAB groups. I studied for duration of 2 months mostly at night giving around 2-3 hours to study each day. I also referred patient.co.uk and NICE guidelines sometimes if I was in doubt and needed some clarifications.

During the time I gave PLAB 1 exam ethic questions were not started. In order to be able to answer the ethical questions it might be a good idea to go though the GMC good medical practice as it’ll give you an idea how things work in UK. Please be aware that UK is looking for SAFE doctors

http://www.gmc-uk.org/guidance/good_medical_practice.asp

The exam overall is easy. There are 200 questions to be answered in 180 minutes. Make sure to mark on the answer sheet directly as you might not get time at the end to transfer your answers to the answer sheet

I had cleared the exam in first attempt. I didn’t immediately apply for PLAB 2 as I wanted to finish my internship and then give PLAB 2.

ADVICE

It is very easy to clear PLAB exam both part 1 and 2. It just requires some dedication and hard work.

Even 3-4 weeks preparation is enough for most people to pass PLAB 1 exam, but it requires at least 5-6 hours of study or more if time permits.

3 thoughts on “PLAB 1

  1. Hi Dr Mona,congrats for your achievements.
    I have a doubt regarding 1700 qs.Can you please tell me,how exactly did you prepare these 1700 Mcq’s?
    Did you also follow Samson notes?
    Thank you

    Like

    1. Hi,
      I used the 1700 question bank and solved it and check my answers with the ones available which i was sure if but the ones i had doubt i referred OCHM for that or patient.co.uk and nice guidelines and i also posted the question on the plab group on fb and asked the group members to give the answer with explanation. I tried reading Samson notes but they were incomplete, so didn’t bother myself by continuing it
      Hope this helps
      Regards

      Like

Leave a comment